Come on, everyone admit to what you use.

pugwash

impecunious pirate
Staff member
GSC Moderator
17 Nov 2009
Luxembourg
Best answers
Country flag
Come on, everyone admit to what you use.
I can see that this section will be of use to all that post piccies
BUT
if you use a point-and-press, a DSLR or a Brownie Box Camera then obviously the results will be different, there are so many variables.
If you want a little advice no problem, but tell us what you are using and life will be easier. I am not a pro, only a keen amateur.
I think most here use digital compacts, and there too there is a huge difference between the possibilities of the cameras, let alone the person holding it.
So please, when you ask a question, try to say what you are using and what the effect you want to acheive is.
:D

E

Elmtree Line

Re:Come on, everyone admit to what you use.

For normal shots i use a Nikon D80 with an 18-135mm lens.

For Macro and low light shots i use a Konica Minolta Dimage G600.

2676091545_3c8862226a.jpg

pugwash

impecunious pirate
Staff member
GSC Moderator
17 Nov 2009
Luxembourg
Best answers
Country flag

Strange, that. I would have thought the Nikon would be better for low light with the ISO bumped up?
My biggest niggle with compacts is the fixed, relatively large aperture thus giving a fairly large depth of field (DoF). For the non-techies the DoF is the portion of an image, from foreground to background, that is in sharp focus. This means with a small DoF you can have your beloved loco in sharp focus but the plants in front and the garden fence behind will be blurred out of focus. This seems to be a recurring complaint from people so far, and to be honest a compact can't usually be made to do otherwise - after all they are made to try and get as much of the image in focus.

railwayman198

Registered
24 Oct 2009
East London
Best answers
Country flag